Adamawa LG Election Tribunal Receives 8 Petitions, Commences Sitting In Yola

| Leave a comment

The Adamawa State Local Government Election Petition Tribunal has commenced sitting in Yola.

The Secretary of the tribunal, Mr Jimmy Ferdinand, who confirmed the development to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Thursday in Yola, said the tribunal had received eight petitions.

“We received eight petitions; two for chairmanship and six for councillorship.

“The two chairmanship petitions are from Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate in Mayo-Belwa Local Government and Social Democratic Party (SDP) candidate in Lamurde Local Government challenging the victory of APC candidates,” Ferdinand said.

He explained that four of the councillorship petitions are from Mayo-Belwa Local Government filed by PDP candidates in Bajam, Gorobi, Gengle and Ribadu wards.

“We also have a PDP councillorship petition from Karewa ward of Yola North Local Government and an SDP councillorship petition from Banjiram ward of Guyuk Local Government.”

Ferdinand said that all the cases were at the mentioning stage before the three-man tribunal, chaired by Mr H.S Dudari.

NAN reports that election into local councils in the state was held on July 30 this year in 20 out of the 21 local government areas of the state.

The election was suspended in Michika Local Government due to security reason. (NAN)

comments powered by Disqus

Daily Columns