NDDC Board: Izunaso Declines Offer, Enyinnah, Weli Ajasin’s Son Rejected

| Leave a comment

A member of National Working Committee (NWC) of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Senator Osita Izunaso, who is currently the national organising secretary of the party, has declined the offer to serve on the Board of Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), owing to the opposition to his nomination.

This is just as the Senate, yesterday, rejected the nominations of Mr. Olatokunbo Ajasin, son of a former governor of old Ondo State, late Chief Michael Adekunle Ajasin; Mr. Donatus Enyinnah; and Mr. Igo Weli, as representatives Ondo, Abia and Niger Delta zone respectively.

The Senate, however, confirmed the nominations of 15 members of the NDDC Board.

The trio of Ajasin, Enyinnah and Weli were rejected on the ground that their nominations breached the NDDC Act, as the first two are not from the oil-producing areas of their respective states, while the nomination of the third person to represent Niger Delta region on the Board is not provided for by the law.

Recall that President Muhammadu Buhari had sometime in July this year sent a list of 19 nominees to the Senate for confirmation as members of the Board of NDDC.

The confirmed members of the Board are Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba as chairman of the commission; Nsima Udo Ekere (Managing Director); Eng. Adjogbe Samuel (Executive Director, Project); Mene Derek (Executive Director, Finance & Admin); other members of the Board are Frank George; Prof. Brambaifa Nelson; Sylvester Nsa; Dr. Ogaga Ifowodo.

They also include Hon. Uwuilekhue Saturday; Harry Dabibi; Air Commodore Bernard Banfa; Yahaya Mohammed; Mustapha Dankadai; Dr. Mahmoud Isa Dutse, who is the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Finance; and Mr. Abdul-Kazeem Kasimu Yero.

comments powered by Disqus

Daily Columns