Why We Suspended 13 Officers Under EFCC Prosecution – FCTA

| Leave a comment

The FCT Administration has explained why it suspended 13 officers undergoing prosecution by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

A statement by the deputy director/ chief press secretary to the administration, Muhammad Hazat Sule, which was made available at the weekend, said the FCT permanent secretary, Dr. Babatope Ajakaiye had explained that the suspension was in line with the public service Rule 030406, which states, “where a prima facie case, the nature of which is serious, has been established against an officer and it is considered necessary in the public interest that he/she should forthwith be prohibited from carrying out his/her duties, pending the determination of the case.”

The statement said it has therefore becomes expedient to suspend the officers in line with the extant rules. The affected officers include Engr. Suleiman Idris, assistant director, transportation secretariat; Idris Usman, assistant director, engineering services department (FCDA); Mohammed Ishaq, chief planning officer, urban & regional planning department; Helen Olokpo, principal town planning officer, urban & regional planning department; Bamidele Olaitan, principal education officer, education secretariat.

The list also include, Ambrose Samchi, principal accountant, treasury services department; Hassan Argungu, principal Land officer (AGIS); Saba Mohammed, senior data officer (AGIS); Yusuf Baba, senior administrative officer (AGIS); Abdullahi Musa, senior administrative officer, deeds registrar’s office; Abraham Murtala Belel, senior accountant, treasury services department; Andrew Gwani, land officer and Abdulmalik Teina, senior accountant, treasury services department.

comments powered by Disqus

Daily Columns