Connect with us
Advertise With Us


LEADERSHIP Editorial Director Emerges NGE Executive



By Bukola Idowu, Lagos
Editorial Director of LEADERSHIP Newspapers, Ms Catherine Agbo, has been elected member of the standing committee of the Nigerian Guild of Editors (NGE), representing editors practising in the northern part of the country, at the 2017 biennial convention of the guild.
Ms Agbo polled the highest number of votes (129) to emerge winner after a keen contest with four other candidates. Ibrahim Mammaga of News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) scored the second highest number of votes to emerge the second northern representative on the committee.
The election is for a term of two years.
Editors practising in the northern part of the country have two statutory positions on the 7-member standing committee, while those in the west and east have three and two respectively.
In the other standing committee contests, Steve Osuji of the Nation Newspaper, Steve Nwosu of Sun Newspaper and Austeen Elewodalu emerged for the west while Ikpong Essien-Udo and Juliet Njiowhor emerged for the East.
Mary Atolagbe polled the highest votes cast to emerge assistant secretary and Ray Echebiri emerged treasurer while Mustapha Isah of Silverbird won the vice president (west) contest.
Suleiman Uba-Gaya of Authority Newspaper emerged deputy president while Funke Egbemode of New Telegraph Newspaper, Hajiya Sani of Voice of Nigeria (VON), Victoria Ibanga, Ken Ugbechie and Frederick Fabor were returned unopposed as president, vice president (north), general secretary, social and publicity secretary and vice president (east), respectively.





%d bloggers like this: