Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Shake-up In Nigerian Army: 13 Generals, 134 Others Affected



By Sunday Isuwa,

The office of the Military Secretary (Army) yesterday announced a major shakeup in Nigeria’s military which affected about 147 officers.

A statement issued by the Director, Army Public Relations, Brigadier General Sani Kukasheka Usman said officers affected were posted into Operation LAFIYA DOLE,  some Divisions,  formations and training schools.

According to the statement, Major General RO Yusuf, Commander, Nigerian Army Ordnance Corps, is now the Commander Training and  Doctrine Command (TRADOC), Minna, while Major General A Oyebade, General Officer Commanding (GOC), 1 Division Nigerian Army, will move to Army Headquarters as Chief of Logistics (COLOG).

In the same vein, Major General AM Dikko has been posted  from the Office of the National Security Adviser to 1 Division as GOC, while Major General I Attahiru is now the Theatre Commander, Operation LAFIYA DOLE.

“Major General LEO Irabor will now move to Multinational Joint Task  Force (MNJTF), as the Field Commander. Major General PJ Dauke has been posted  from 3 Division to 81 Division as GOC and  Brigadier General  BI Ahanotu will be Acting GOC 3 Division.”

“The erstwhile Registrar of the Nigerian Defence Academy, Brigadier General IM Yusuf will be the Acting GOC 7 Division and Brigadier General SO Olabanji, the Commandant of Amphibious Training School Calabar, is now the Acting GOC 8 Task Force Division. The GOC 81  Division, Major General EB Oyefolu, is now the Commander, Nigerian Army Training Centre (NATRAC), Kontagora, while Brigadier General MG Ali, has been moved to Nigerian Army Special Forces School Buni Yadi, as Commandant from NATRAC,” the statement said.

Similarly, Brigadier General IM Obot is Brigade Commander 26 Task Force Brigade, while Brigadier General AO Quadri will move from the Office of the Chief of Army Staff to 25 Task Force Brigade as Commander.

“Also those affected in the new posting include some  Commanders and Staff Officers at the Defence, Army Headquarters and Brigades,” the statement added.