Connect with us
Advertise With Us


2017 Nigeria Sports Awards Final Nominees Out



Organisers of the Nigerian Sports Award have announced shortlist of nominees for the sixth anniversary edition.
The Chairman of the newly constituted panel of the prestigious award Mr. Kweku Tandoh however announced nominees for five different categories that include Ball sports Personality of the year, Sportsman of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year, Sports Governor of the Year, Team of the Year.

He revealed that nominees for this year’s award would be in 16 categories that include Discovery of the Year.

Some of the nominees include Akuh Purity, Kennedy Boboye and Sam Vincent. .The trio will be competing for the Coach of the Year. While the likes of Aruna Quadri, Ike Diogu and Evelyn Akhator make up the three finalists for Ball Sports of the Year, the trio of Victor Moses, Anthony Okpotu, Stephen Odeh are expected to slug it out for the Male footballer of the Year.

The list of categories to be competed for include; Coach of the year, Wrestler of the Year, Ball Sports of the Year, Female Footballer of the Year, Sportsman of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year, Sports Administrator of the Year, Sports Governor of the Year, Sportswriter of the Year(Radio),Male Footballer of the Year, Sports Journalist of the Year(TV), TV Sports Journalist, Print Sports Journalist of the Year and Team of the Year. Discovery of the Year. Besides, Tandoh noted that special recognition award would also be given to five deserving sport individuals and companies who have done tremendously to advance sports in the last 12 months.

Speaking on the mechanism for voting, Kayode Idowu of the Unmissable Incentives, the organisers of the awards, disclosed that the public would be open to four different options that include messaging option, twitter, manual format and voting through the award website. To vote for nominee of their choice, Idowu said members of the public are expected to log on to the award website, or vote on the award twitter handle, @ngrsportsaward
Voting commenced on October 5 and will close on November 12. The award will hold on November 17 at the Banquet Hall of the Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from LEADERSHIP. Contact: [email protected]

Would you accept FG's proposed cattle colony in your local area?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sign up for our newsletter


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!