Connect with us
Advertise With Us


2017 Nigeria Sports Awards Final Nominees Out



By Onukogu Kanayochuqu Jubal

Organisers of the Nigerian Sports Award have announced shortlist of nominees for the sixth anniversary edition.
The chairman of the newly constituted panel of the prestigious award, Mr. Kweku Tandoh, over the weekend, announced nominees in five different categories – Ball Sports Personality of the Year, Sportsman of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year, Sports Governor of the Year and Team of the Year – even though there would be 16 categories in all, including Discovery of the Year.

Akuh Purity, Kennedy Boboye and Sam Vincent would be competing for the Coach of the Year, while the likes of Aruna Quadri, Ike Diogu and Evelyn Akhator make up the three finalists for Ball Sports of the Year.

Victor Moses, Anthony Okpotu and Stephen Odeh are expected to slug it out for the Male footballer of the Year.

The list of categories to be competed for include; Coach of the year, Wrestler of the Year, Ball Sports of the Year, Female Footballer of the Year, Sportsman of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year, Sports Administrator of the Year, Sports Governor of the Year, Sportswriter of the Year (Radio),Male Footballer of the Year, Sports Journalist of the Year(TV), TV Sports Journalist, Print Sports Journalist of the Year, Team of the Year and Discovery of the Year. Also, Tandoh noted that special recognition award would also be given to five deserving sport individuals and companies who have done well in advancing sports in the last 12 months.
Speaking on the mechanism for voting, Kayode Idowu of the award organisers, Unmissable Incentives, disclosed that the public would be open to four different options that include messaging option, Twitter, manual format and voting through the award’s website.

To vote for nominees of their choice, Idowu said members of the public would have to to log on to the award website, or vote via Twitter handle, @ngrsportsaward.

Voting commenced on October 5 and would close on November 12, while the award would hold on November 17 at the Banquet Hall of the Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.