Connect with us
Advertise With Us


CAF Awards: Mikel, Rohr Vote Victor Moses



A breakdown of the votes for the 2017 CAF African Footballer of the Year showed that both Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr and captain Mikel Obi voted Chelsea star Victor Moses, who finished fourth in the overall vote.

Victor Moses was also top choice for coaches of Swaziland, South Sudan and Namibia as well as captain of South Sudan.

Egypt and Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah was voted player of the year was runaway winner with 625 votes, Senegal’s Sadio Mane was first runners-up on 507 votes, while 2015 winner Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang from Gabon drew 311 votes.

Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon) 106 votes, Betrand Traore (Burkina Faso) 84 votes, while Naby Keita (Guinea) got 78 votes.

Denis Onyango (Uganda) and Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco) were tied on 41 votes each, Keita Balde (Senegal) had 41 votes and Yacine Brahimi (Algeria) got 11 votes.

National team coaches and captains, fans and independent media and TV consultants all took part in the vote.



%d bloggers like this: