Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Election: APC Wins Gwagwalada Councillorship Re-run




Despite a minor rowdiness that characterized some polling stations,

during a re-run councillorship election, conducted over the weekend,

in Gwagwalada central ward, the All Progressives Congress (APC)

candidate, Hon. Abdulkarim Mohammed emerged winner of the poll.

Announcing the result, the INEC returning officer, Mr. George Galayam,

said that Abdulkarim Mohammed pulled the highest vote of 1, 686 to

beat his All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) counterpart to emerge

the winner.

A breakdown of the result shows that Abdulkarim Mohammed of APC had

1,688 votes, while Ibrahim Anize of APGA had 1, 588 votes and Jibrin

Yerima of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had 977 votes.

The election of Ibrahim Anize was earlier nullified as a result of the

cancellation of the results of four pulling units by the FCT Area

Council Election petitions Appeal Tribunal in the last election.

With this development, the APC now has six councillors in the

legislative arm of the Gwagwalada area council.

The INEC commissioner, in charge of FCT, Prof Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine

however allays fears that the 2019 election may not be peaceful as


Okoosi-Simbine said that senior politicians and their presence led to

the minor rowdiness, which disrupted the voting process, but was

quickly addressed by military personnel.

She explained that the crisis at the polling units was as result of

the presence of politicians, who wanted to ensure that their

candidates win by all means.

LEADERSHIP observed that the election process was characterised by

buying of votes, which led to an abrupt stoppage of the process, as

the military personnel intervened and brought the situation under




%d bloggers like this: