Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Moses, Ndidi, Akpotu Battle For Aiteo NFF Player Award



Who wins the 2017 Nigerian Footballer of the Year Award? The answer will be provided when the AITEO/Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) inaugural awards made its debut in Lagos, today.

The nominees in the various categories for the awards which is scheduled to hold this evening at Eko Hotels & Suites in Victoria Island, Lagos, have been revealed by the Nigeria Football Federation on its official twitter handle, @thenff.

The Chelsea of England star, Victor Moses and Leicester City central midfielder, Wilfred Ndidi are in contention for Nigerian Player of the Year crown after making the final shortlists released by the Nigerian football governing body on its official twitter account.

Victor Moses played a key role as Chelsea won the 2016/2017 Premier League title and progressed to the final of the FA Cup last season, while Wilfred Ndidi has been nothing short of phenomenal since he joined Leicester City from Genk in January 2017.

The duo, who were equally outstanding in helped Nigeria to qualify for the Russia World Cup finals are joined on the list by African Nations Championship star, Anthony Okpotu who starred for the CHAN Super Eagles as they just about fell short of the title in Morocco.

In the Women Player of the Year category, Super Falcons star, Asisat Oshoala, who was is the reigning CAF female player of the year is also in the running for this one alongside Charity Reuben and Francisca Ordega.

Ex-MFM striker, Stephen Odey, El-Kanemi Warriors sensation, Nura Mohammed, and Enyimba’s Ikouwem Udoh have been nominated for the Young Player of the Year (Men) category. Aside Odey who is currently plying his trade with Switzerland Super League club, FC Zurich, after his goalscoring heroics in the NPFL, the other nominees were present for the CHAN Eagles in their run to the final of the Morocco tournament.

This is the first time NFF is organizing an Awards ceremony to reward and inspire the major actors and actresses in the Nigerian Football space. Gongs will be presented to winners in Player of the Year (men), Player of the Year (women), Coach of the Year (men), Coach of the Year (women), Young Player of the Year (men), Young Player of the Year (women), Team of the Season, Fairplay Award, Goal of the Season, Fans of the Season, NFF Development Award and Platinum Award categories.

Array of prominent global figures, including FIFA President Gianni Infantino and CAF President Ahmad, political chieftains, football stars, renowned administrators past and present, captains of industry, legends of the Nigeria game and oaks of the entertainment industry are now confirmed for the inaugural edition of the AITEO/CAF Football Awards holding at the Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos, today.

FIFA and CAF sources confirmed to on Sunday that Infantino and Ahmad will arrive in Nigeria on Monday and would be live at the event venue alongside Presidents of about 20 Member Associations of FIFA.

There will be also special recognition of a ‘Legends Eleven,’ a squad of outstanding former Nigeria international players.

The Awards ceremony will be attended by a large selection of Nigeria football legends, including former captains Christian Chukwu, Olusegun Odegbami, Daniel Amokachi, Mutiu Adepoju, Uche Okechukwu, Garba Lawal, Austin Jay Jay Okocha, Nwankwo Kanu and Joseph Yobo.



%d bloggers like this: