Connect with us
Advertise With Us


New CBN Deputy Govs, MPC Members Assume Office Ahead Of April Meeting



Following the approval of their appointments by the National Assembly last week, the new deputy governors of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Mrs. Aishah Ahmad and Mr. Edward Lametek Adamu have formally assumed duty. Likewise, the newly appointed members of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC), Professor Adeola Festus Adenikinju; Dr. Robert Asogwa and Dr. Aliyu Rafindadi Sanusi were also at the head office of the CBN to formally commence their tenure ahead of the MPC meeting scheduled for next week, April 3-4, 2018.

Welcoming the new Deputy Governors and members of the MPC to the bank, the Governor, Mr. Godwin Emefiele, congratulated them on their respective appointments by the President and subsequent confirmation by the Senate.

He expressed his pleasure in the fact that the apex bank now has a full complement of Deputy Governors to enable it operate optimally as well as the required quorum to enable the MPC hold its statutory meetings for formulating monetary and credit policy.

The apex bank had not been able to hold its bimonthly MPC meeting in January as it could not form a quorum and had shifted its March meeting till April to allow ample time for the newly appointed members to resume office. Emefiele charged the Deputy Governors and MPC members to bring their experience to bear in the discharge of their new responsibilities, stressing that much was expected of them.

Mrs. Ahmad, Mr. Adamu and the three new MPC members subsequently subscribed to their Oaths of Office, administered by the Acting Director, Corporate Secretariat at the CBN, Mrs. Alice Karau. Thereafter, the Director, Monetary Policy Department (MPD), Mr. Moses Tule, read out the Charter of the MPC to new members before they retired into their maiden MPC retreat preparatory to the first MPC meeting for 2018 scheduled to hold on Tuesday, April 3 and Wednesday, April 4, 2018.

It will be recalled that the Nigerian Senate on Thursday, March 22, 2018, confirmed the appointment of Mrs. Aisha Ahmad and Mr. Edward Adamu as substantive Deputy Governors of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) along with three members of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC).b



%d bloggers like this: