Connect with us
Advertise With Us


We’ll Not Follow Mimiko To Labour Party – Jegede, Others



The governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)  in the last election, Mr. Eyitayo Jegede, his running mate, Prince John Ola-Mafo, former commissioners, Kayode Akinmade, Dayo Awude and Jide Adejuyigbe, among others yesterday said they will not decamp with the former governor of Ondo State, Dr. Olusegun Mimiko to Labour Party.

In the same vein, the state chairman of the party, Engr. Clement Faboyede as well as long -time ally of the former governor, Akogun Tokunbo Modupe have also opted to remain in the PDP.

  LEADERSHIP learnt that Others not moving with him include, former commissioner for Transport, Otunba Nicholas Tofowomo, Adedayo Omolafe, Adebayo Alarapon, Senator Boluwaji Kunlere, Chief Segun Adegoke, Chief Akintade, Barrister Sola Ebiseni, Barrister Remi Olatubora, and Col Omowa.

When LEADERSHIP contacted Jegede on phone whether he would be following his former boss from the PDP to LP, Jegede laughed for several seconds before responding with: “I am a member of the PDP”.

It was however learnt that Mimiko has concluded arrangements to officially quit the PDP, to the Labour Party.

Mimiko, who was governor between 2009 and 2017 will be returning with his teeming supporters to the party he left in 2014 ahead of the 2015 general elections.

Prior to this latest development, there have been speculations on his defection in the last couple of months.

Mimiko had allegedly boycotted PDP activities both at the state and the national level immediately after the party lost the last governorship election in Ondo State.

However, LEADERSHIP learnt that his official defection would hold at the Ondo Civic Centre in Ondo town on Thursday.

Investigations revealed that the development would signal the rebuilding of the structure of the LP, which was collapsed into the PDP in 2014 ahead of his alleged presidential ambition.

It was also learnt that few members of the cabinet of the former governor, many of his former appointees and at least a federal lawmaker and three members of the State House of Assembly would be joining the move to the LP.

The cabinet members are to be led by former deputy governor, Alhaji Lasisi Oluboyo and former commissioner for Works, Engr. Gboye Adegbenro, as well as others who are looking for a fresh platform to contest the 2019 general elections in the state.





%d bloggers like this: