Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Kogi Donates 7 Buses To Tertiary Institutions



Kogi state government has distributed seven “Ashok Leyland” 32-seater buses to seven  state-owned tertiary institutions, to ease the burden of transportation of students across the state.

The commissioner for Transportation, Mr Awwal Mohammed, at the official hand-over ceremony of the buses said that the gesture was geared towards easing the burden of transportation for students and staff of affected institutions.

He said that the benefiting schools are “Kogi State University (KSU), Anyigba; Kogi State College of Education, Ankpa; Kogi State Polytechnic, Lokoja, as well as the Osara Campus”.

“Others are Kogi State College of Nursing and Midwifery, Obagende, Kogi State College of Education Technical, Kabba; and Kogi Sate College of Science and Health Technology, Idah,” Mohammed said.

According to him, the education sector has never had it so good before the advent of the administration of Governor Yahaya Bello.

Mohammed said “not only has the Governor fulfilled his promise to our students across Nigeria to pay their bursary allowances but also went further to increase the bursary by 300 per cent.”

He added that the governor had also shown enormous interest and commitment towards the improvement of the welfare and well-being of students by employing qualified academic staff.

He said that 27 medical students of KSU were successfully transferred to three accredited universities in Nigeria on the state government’s scholarship.

The Vice Chancellor of KSU, Prof. Abdulkadir Mohammed, who responded on behalf of heads of other institutions, commended the state government for the gesture and “ timely intervention, adding “It will also go a long way in helping the students and lecturers in research and other academic activities.”