Connect with us
Advertise With Us


AIG Unveils 2018/2019 Scholarship Recipients



The Africa Initiative for Governance (AIG) has announced the recipients of the 2018/2019 round of the AIG Scholarships, the organisation’s fully funded scholarship programme for young, outstanding West Africans with a passion for public service.

The AIG Scholars are Adetola Adegbite (Nigeria), Blessing Ajimoti (Nigeria), Prosper Amuquandoh (Ghana), Louisa Chinedu-Okeke (Nigeria) and Tobechukwu Nneli (Nigeria).

Commencing 2017, five scholarships are made available every year by AIG to talented West Africans from all backgrounds who are passionate about the public sector, to pursue the Master of Public Policy at the Blavatnik School of Government, University of Oxford. Upon graduation, AIG Scholars are expected to return to their home country and apply their learning experience as change agents in their country’s public sector.

Announcing the new scholars, founder and chairman of AIG, Mr. Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede, said, “We are pleased to announce our second cohort of AIG Scholars. Public service is one of the fundamental contributors to national development and it is critical to encourage talented, young individuals as regards the crucial role that they play in the process. With AIG’s continuing support, these high-calibre women and men will acquire the skills and experience to drive best practice standards of public service and governance across Africa.”

The AIG Scholarships are funded by AIG under a partnership entered into, in June 2016, between AIG and the Blavatnik School of Government at the University of Oxford, based on a shared vision of improving the world through good governance and public leadership.

AIG Scholars are determined after a rigorous process which assesses key qualities such as outstanding academic ability, leadership and strong commitment to public service.

“The AIG Scholarship Awards selection process is a very competitive one, with thousands of talented individuals applying from across Nigeria and Ghana,” said Chief executive officer of AIG, Ms. Chienye Ogwo. While congratulating this year’s awardees, Ogwo urged them to remain committed to the organisation’s mission to seek, attract, inspire and support future leaders of Africa’s public sector.

A first-class graduate of Physics and Computer Science from the University of Ghana, and one of the 2018 AIG Scholars, Mr. Prosper Amuquandoh, said, “I feel a great sense of achievement, and very lucky to be given this opportunity. The multidisciplinary nature of the programme will empower me with an advanced level of competence to achieve my goals of being an effective public policy practitioner.”

Another 2018 AIG Scholar and first-class Political Science and Public Administration graduate of the University of Benin, Mr. Tobechukwu Nneli, said, “The uniqueness of the AIG Scholarship is that it is an initiative by Africans, with Africans and for Africa. The Scholarship is very important to me because I see it as a workable solution to Africa’s development quagmire and an awesome opportunity for me to contribute to the development of my country, and by extension, my continent.”

Meanwhile, AIG has also announced the opening of the application window for the 2019/2020 AIG Scholarships. The application window is expected to close on Friday, September 14, 2018.



WORLD14 mins ago

Ethiopia Can Learn From Nigeria’s Telecom Liberalisation – Gwandu

The Non-Executive Chair of the Commonwealth ITU Group (CIG) and the former Commissioner of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), Dr....

NEWS19 mins ago

Youths Advocate Increase In Education Financing

Young Nigerian activists, passionate about holding government accountable for the implementation of development projects, have petitioned their elected government representatives...

NEWS20 mins ago

BNHA Approves Ortom’s Request To Appoint 26 Special Advisers

The Benue House of Assembly has approved Gov Samuel Ortom’s request to appoint 26 Special Advisers. The News Agency of...

NEWS39 mins ago

Speakership: Olatubosun Pledges Support To Gbajabiamila, Wase

Hon. Olajide Olatubosun has pledged his support to the newly elected Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Femi...

NEWS42 mins ago

NRIC Bill Will Change Nigeria, Says ASURI GS, As He Receives Award

The General Secretary of the Academic Staff Union of Research Institutions (ASURI), Dr Theophilus Ndubuaku has expressed confidence that when...

WORLD49 mins ago

EU Court Rules German Road Toll For Foreigners Discriminatory

A planned German highway toll for cars discriminates against foreign drivers and breaches European Union law, the EU’s highest court...

METRO54 mins ago

CAN Re-Elects Ayokunle As President

The President of the Nigerian Baptist Convention (NBC), Rev. Supo Ayokunle, has been re-elected President of the Christian Association of...



%d bloggers like this: