Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Benue Assembly Impeaches Speaker, Other Principal Officers



Political tension has continued unabated in Benue State, as members of the state Assembly yesterday impeached the speaker Terkimbi Ikyange and other principal officers.

His election followed the adoption of a motion for vote of no confidence passed on the immediate past leadership of the House moved by Honourable Richard Ujege representing Konshisha State Constituency and seconded by his counterpart from Ado, Hon Anthony Ogbu.

The motion accused the former leadership of high handedness and other sundry offences.

Mr. Titus Uba, representing Khan Constituency was elected the new Speaker of the 8th Assembly following his nomination by Member representing Otukpo/Akpa, Hon Egli Johnson Ahubi and seconded by Hon Steven Tyochir representing Gwer East State Constituency.

The House also elected Hon Egli Johnson Ahubi as Deputy Speaker following his nomination by Hon Joseph Ojobo representing Ogbadibo state constituency and seconded by his counterpart from Makurdi North, Rt Hon Avine Agbom.

The Speaker and his deputy were immediately sworn-in by the clerk of the House, Dr. Torese Agena.

In his acceptance speech, Mr Titus Uba thanked members for finding him worthy to serve in that capacity and promised exemplary leadership of the 8th Assembly.

Other principal officers elected included Honourable Avine Agbom as Majority and Rt Hon Sule Audu as Deputy Majority Leader while Hon Kester  Kyenge representing Logo State Constituency was elected Majority Whip.

The sitting was earlier presided over by Hon Sule Audu representing Agatu state constituency, who was elected Speaker Pro-Tempo immediately after the dissolution of the old leadership of the House.

The House later adjourned sitting till 15th August, 2018 following a motion moved by Rt. Hon Paul Biam and seconded by Hon Damian Cheme representing Ukum and Gwer West state constituencies respectively.

Rt. Hon Avine Agbom submitted his letter of defection from the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC to the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP during plenary.

Twenty-two members signed the motion for the vote of no confidence while twenty-one were present at plenary.

Speaking to newsmen shortly after his election, the new Speaker Mr. Titus Ubah stated that, Mr Ikyange was unanimously removed as a result of his high handedness.

“The eight Assembly of the Benue State is a house that have come to do what the people have elected them to do and once they notice that there is anything that would tarnish the image of the eight Assembly, the house will rise to that challenge and that is what the house had  done just today”.