Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Nasarawa Assembly Okays 5- year Tenure For VC, Principal Officers



The Nasarawa State House of Assembly, yesterday approved five year single tenure for the state University Vice Chancellor and other principal officers.

The Speaker of the House, Ibrahim Balarabe Abdullahi, while announcing the passage of “ A  bill for a Law to Amend the Nasarawa State University Law 2001” in Lafia during the House proceeding commended the sponsor of the bill, Daniel Ogah Ogazi (APC-Kokona East) and his colleagues for ensuring that the bill sees the light of the day.

Earlier, Daniel Ogah Ogazi, the Deputy Majority Leader of the House moved a motion for the passage of the bill into law which was seconded by Alhaji Mohammed Okpoku (APC-Udege/Loko).

The speaker said that with the new law, the Vice-Chancellor of the university shall hold office for a single term of five years and shall no longer be eligible for appointment until at least ten years have elapsed since he last held office as a Vice-Chancellor.

“Within a period of 90 days and not later than 60 days to the expiration of the tenure of the existing Vice-Chancellor, the successor to the Vice-Chancellor shall be appointed.

“The Registrar shall hold office for a single term of five years, except when his tenure is expiring the same time with the Vice Chancellor that his tenure shall be extended for one year only and no more.

“Directorates of Works and Maintenance, Directorates of Physical Planning, Directorates of Health Services and Directorates of Information, Communication and Technology shall hold office for A single term of five years only”.

“Also, there shall be Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academics) and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration) in the office of the Vice Chancellor whose tenure shall be two years subject to renewal for another two years” he said.




%d bloggers like this: