Connect with us
Advertise With Us


COEASU Urges FG To Urgently Renegotiate 2010 Agreement



The Colleges of Education Academic Staff Union, COEASU, has called on the Federal Government to urgently resume renegotiations of the 2010 agreement reached with the union to forestall industrial dispute.

COEASU made the appeal in a communiqué issued at the end of its Expanded National Executive Council, ENEC, meeting at the Akwa Ibom State College of Education, Afaha-Nsit.

The communique, jointly signed by its National President, Comrade Nuhu Ogirima, and General Secretary, Taiwo Olayanju, noted that while government was renegotiating agreements with unions of other tertiary institutions, that of FGN-COEASU reached in 2010 remained provocatively discouraging as the process has been stalled again.

The union further called on all tiers of government, the National Council on Education, NCE, and relevant agencies to check the growing attrition in the teaching profession, warning that “if unchecked, it has the potential of imposing a gulf in the teacher-gap in the country.”

On the implementation of 65 years retirement age and CONPCASS salary structure by most state governments, the union commended the state governments, while charging those paying fractions of the salary structure to desist and pay in full.

It however described as “exploitative, and unacceptable, the non-payment of salary to, and the non-implementation of CONPCASS salary structure for staff of the College of Education, Arochukwu, by the Abia State government.”

The communique further expressed strong reservations on the continued denial of the rights of academic staff to appropriate and accruable full salary by the government of Edo, Kaduna, Kogi, Nasarawa, Ogun, and Osun States in their respective colleges of education.

On alleged injustice in dispute resolution in some COEs, the Council noted that it received, reports of intolerance and injustices perpetuated against members and union leaders while handling issues of industrial concern in COEs such as Tai Solarin COE, Omu-Ijebu, Ogun State and the Federal College of Education, Potiskum, Yobe State.



%d bloggers like this: