Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Sokoto CPC Members, Guber Candidate Defect To PDP



It was yet another blow for the Sokoto State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) yesterday as all members of the defunct Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) pulled out of All Progressives Congress (APC) to join the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Thousands of the defectors from across the 23 local governments of the state were led into the PDP by a former gubernatorial candidate of the CPC, Hon Yusuf Dahiru Yabo.

Yabo, a grassroots politician and former commissioner was the state gubernatorial flag-bearer under the platform of CPC in the 2011 general elections but lost to former Governor Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko.

The CPC members lamented that the APC they merged to form has not only derailed but failed woefully, adding that Sokoto State chapter of APC has equally refused to keep any of the terms for merger.

Dahiru Yabo in a press statement announcing CPC’s resolve to defect to PDP said, they have also unanimously endorsed Governor Aminu Waziri Tambuwal as their presidential candidate.

The statement reads in part, “The CPC executive members of the 23 local governments of Sokoto State hereby present have resolved to decamp to the PDP due to the following reasons. The inability of the ruling APC to honour the merger agreement reached under Wamakko with the CPC members since 2015.

“The inability of the ruling APC to deliver on the promises made to Nigerian voters. The inability of APC to provide dividend of democracy, safety and security for Nigerians under APC administration of PMB.

“We hereby resolve not to trust Senator Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko due to his previous betrayals.

“The Sokoto State CPC executive members and their teeming supporters from the 23 local governments areas, do hereby endorse the presidential campaign of Rt. Hon Aminu Waziri Tambuwal.

“We also have resolved to work round the clock to ensure that Rt. Hon. Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, Hon. Manir Mohammed Dan’Iya and the entire PDP candidates are successful in the 2019 elections, Insha Allah”.



%d bloggers like this: