Connect with us
Advertise With Us


CSOs Condemn APC Primaries At Vandeikya/Konshisha In Benue



The Coalition of Civil Societies on Good Governance, Jechira Intellectuals In Diaspora, Transparency Advocacy Group and Tiv Youth League have faulted the All Progressives Congress (APC) House of Representatives primaries held in Konshisha/Vandeikya Federal Constituency of Benue state describing it as ”kangaroo arrangement”. Addressing newsmen yesterday in Abuja, Tarhemba Theophilus called on the National Secretariat of the APC to save the party and democracy by rejecting this result that is obviously flawed in all its facets. Theophilus alleged that that there was no APC primaries in Vandeikya/Konshisha Federal constituency but a subversion of democracy and the person paraded as winner is only a pretender to the position and at best a lead conspirator to an electoral fraud.

”We are all aware that the National Secretariat had approved the conduct of primaries around the nation in order to select credible candidates accepted by the party to fly its flag in the forthcoming elections, however in the Vandeikya/Konshisha Federal Constituency the noble efforts of the party were subverted and evil was ordained. ”The candidate that has so far been paraded as the winner of the primaries that did not actually hold, is not a true representation of the people’s choice as the said election was a sham and crass display of electoral malpractice as against the spirit and tenets of the party.

”We wish to draw the attention of the National Secretariat, President and the world to the fact that the said congress was rife with irregularities,” he said. The convener said that the venue of the said primaries, Iorva Guest House, a very small fenced building was a rented by the paraded winner, Mrs. Dorathy Mato, which automatically gave her unfair advantage. ”The original delegates list for the primaries was tampered with and doctored to her favour. For instance in Konshisha Local Government which originally has 11 council wards was doctored to reflect only six, thereby disenfranchising delegates from five council wards. The council wards include Mbake, Mbanor, Maren, Mbawar and Mbayer Council wards,” he added