Connect with us
Advertise With Us


LASU Sacks 3 Lecturers Over Sexual Assault



Lagos State University (LASU) has dismissed three senior lecturers over allegations of sexual misconduct.

They are Dr Ayoola Sunkanmi Odubunmi, Dr Isiaka Ajani Ogunwande, and Dr Emmanuel Orilade Gbeleyi.

A statement from the university’s spokesman, Ademola Adekoya made available to the newsmen yesterday noted that the dismissal followed due investigations into the allegations against the trio.

Adekoya said that the dismissal is based on the decision of its Governing Council during its 119th Statutory Meeting held recently in Lagos.

He said, “while Dr. Odubunmi is an Associate Professor in the Department of Economics, Dr. Ogunwande is an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry at LASU. For Dr Gbeleyi, he is a Lecturer II at the Department of Anatomy, Lagos State University College of Medicine (LASUCOM), Ikeja, Lagos.

The current LASU authority by this development has further demonstrated its zero-tolerance for sexual harassment and general indiscipline and the drive to continually promote the welfare of both deserving staff and students of the institution.”

Adekoya also noted in the statement of the promotion and recruitment of members of staff of the University, saying that the Council has approved the promotion of 49 academic staff and 200 non-academic staff into various positions.

He added that 29 non-academic staff of the University have benefited from an internal recruitment exercise recently conducted by the university.



%d bloggers like this: