PDP Senator Defects To APC — Leadership Newspaper
Connect with us
Advertise With Us


PDP Senator Defects To APC



The Senate plenary was yesterday thrown into jubilation when the Senator representing Rivers West, Osinakachukwu Ideozu, defected from the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC). The defection of the lawmaker has pulled down the number of PDP senators to 48 while moving up the number of APC in Senate to 57. Before now, of 109 senators, APC had 56 members, PDP got 49 while other political parties have 4 senators respectively. There are three senators from the PDP controlled Rivers state. With the defection of Ideozu (Rivers West), all the lawmakers from the oil-rich state are now members of the APC. The two others are Senators Andrew Uchendu (Rivers East) and Magnus Abe (Rivers South East) respectively. Yesterday, the defection of Senator Osinakachukwu was announced by the Senate Majority, Ahmad Lawan. The announcement by Lawan came when he moved a motion for the adjournment of plenary. He gladly congratulated the defected lawmaker and welcomed him into the majority party.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from LEADERSHIP Nigeria Newspapers. Contact: editor@leadership.ng


You must be logged in to post a comment Login


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!