Connect with us
Advertise With Us


2019: Niger Deputy Speaker, 10 Others Fail To Make INEC List



Eleven out of the 27 members of the Niger State House of Assembly, including the deputy speaker, Husseini Ibrahim could not get the tickets of their party to return to the House.

Those who were unable to make it back to the House by the list of candidates released at the weekend by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC ) were  Mohammed Baiwa from  Mokwa constituency , Abdullahi Mammagi from Gbako , Isah Mohammed from Lavun, and  Adamu Abugi from Lapai.

Others are Danlami Bako from  Rafi constituency; John Paul Bahago from  Munya; Nurudeen Umar from  Kontagora 1; Nura Garba from Kontagora II; Husseini Ibrahim the deputy Speaker from Agaie; Musa Alhaji Sule from  Katcha and Umar Jiya from Mashegu.

Danladi Iyah from Tafa constituency has defected to Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and given ticket to contest for Tafa, Gurara and Suleja federal constituency and Abdulmalik Kabir from Paikoro constituency defected to ADP to re-contest.

Meanwhile some youths from Gbako had besieged Government House, Minna to protest the dropping of the name of Hon Abdullahi Mammagi who they claim won the primaries.

The youths led by Suleiman Ibrahim claimed that those who want to position themselves as godfathers are denying those who are supposed to get the tickets of the party their victory.

The Political Adviser to the Governor, Solomon  Nyaze, while speaking to the protesters on behalf of the governor stated that government will look into their complaint because the governor always stands for justice and fairness.

He said, “I have listened to them and I have to listen to the other side and weigh the two sides for fairness. No gain in crisis and I call on them to be patient to amicability resolve the issue and to ensure that justice is done to all that are involved”.



%d bloggers like this: