Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Oyetola Sworn In As Osun Governor



Alhaji Adegboyega Oyetola has been sworn in as the governor of Osun.

Oyetola, who won Sept. 22 governorship election on the platform of All Progressives Congress (APC) was sworn in at Osogbo City Stadium, on Tuesday in Osogbo.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that he arrived at the venue of the event with his wife , Kafayat and children at 11:40 am.

The Chief Judge of the State, Hon. Justice Oyobola Adepele-Ojo administered oath of office on Oyetola at 1:02pm.

His deputy, Benedict Alabi, took oath of office at 12:55 pm.

Oyetola took over from Aregbesola, who came into power on Nov. 27, 2010.

Aregbesola came to power after the Court of Appeal sitting in Ibadan, sacked his predecessor, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola, who had spent three and a half years of his second term in office.”

In his good will message, President Muhammadu Buhari urged Gov. Oyetola to rule with human face and with the fear of God.

The President, who was represented by Mr Boss Mustapha, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation also urged him to be a governor for all.

Buhari said the peaceful transition from one government to another was a demonstration that Nigeria democracy had matured.

The president commended the people of the state for conducting themselves peacefully during the governorship election in spite of the hitches, adding that the victory was for the people.

Buhari also commended Aregbesola for steering the ship of the state in the right direction in the last 8 years and for handing over power to another APC governor.

The president, however, said that Federal Government was committed to the completion of various infrastructure projects in the state.

He said FG had supported the state in the area of health, housing, water, economy and education.

Also speaking, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, the national leader of the ruling APC commended Aregbesola for his achievements while in office.

He said “Aregbesola earned progressive mandate for 8 years, developed progressive programmes and handed over to another progressive governor.

“This is not a mere achievement, and we pledge our total support, both of us in office or out of office for the continuity of the progressive government established by President Muhammadu Buhari.

“And we are not going back to greed, selfishness and corruption that held back our progress”.

Tinubu, however urged Oyetola to embark on the same path that gave him honour to become the governor, adding that the party was solidly behind him.

In his speech, the governor said his administration marked a new beginning in the state.

He said he would ensure that the people of the state felt positive effects of the progressive government in the state.

He also said that his administration would ensure prompt payment of workers’ salaries.

Oyetola also said he would increase the revenue base, job creation, boost agriculture and food security as well accessible education and health.

While thanking President Buhari for his support for the state and the party, Oyetola said Osun was ready for the “next level”.

He promised to deliver Osun for the president in 2019.

“My administration will promote growth, job creation, social protection and upgrade in standard of living of the people,’’ Oyetola said.

Oyetola, a former Chief of Staff to immediate past governor, Rauf Aregbesola for eight years is a native of Iragbiji in Boripe Local Government Area of the state.

Born on Sept. 29, 1954, Oyetola bagged Bachelor of Science degree in Insurance in 1978 from University of Lagos, and a Master of Business Administration in 1999 at the same University.

NAN reports that Oyetola, a native of Iragbiji, defeated the candidate of People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Sen. Ademola Adeleke during the governorship election.

NAN further reports that Oyetola scored 255,505 votes to defeat Adeleke, who polled 255, 023 votes.

The journey of Oyetola to the governorship seat started on July 20, when he won the party’s governorship ticket.

He scored 127,017 votes to defeat other 16 aspirants who participated in the direct primary held in Osogbo.

NAN reports that APC governors at the event were Akinwumi Ambode of Lagos, Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo, Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano, Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti, Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo and Yayaha Bello of Kogi.

Also present were Mr Adams Oshiomole, the APC National Chairman, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, the APC National Leader and his wife Sen. Oluremi, Chief Olusegun Osoba, a former Ogun governor, Ooni of Ife, Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi, Alafin of Oyo, Oba Lamidi Adeyemi, among others.