Connect with us
Advertise With Us


APC Primaries: 4 Ogun Lawmakers Defect To APM



Four members of Ogun State House of Assembly (OGHA) elected on the platform of All Progressives Congress (APC) yesterday defected to Allied People’s Movement (APM).

The defectors included the Majority Leader of the Assembly, Asiwaju Yinka Mafe, who is representing Sagamu state constituency 1, as well as the Chief Whip of the House, Idowu Olowofuja Nureni, representing Abeokuta State South II.

Others are Hon. Tunde Sanusi, representing Obafemi/Owode state constituency and Ganiu Alani Oyedeji who is representing Ifo state constituency II.

Their letters of defection to APM were read on the floor of the House by the speaker, Suraju Adekunbi Ishola, during yesterday’s plenary session.

In their separate letters read before other lawmaners, the defectors cited the outcome of the APC Legislative Primaries held on October 7, 2018 in which their names were allegedly substituted for other candidates as one of the reasons for their defection.

Other reasons included irreconcilable differences within the Ogun APC fold after they had explored all known avenues for resolving disputes within the party.

Though the two principal House officers: the Majority Leader, Mafe and the Chief Whip, Olowofuja were elected on the platform of APC, it is however, not certain whether the lawmakers will strip them of their respective offices or not.




%d bloggers like this: