Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Police Commission Promotes 239 Senior Officers




The Police Service Commission (PSC), has approved the promotion of 239 senior police officers.

The promoted officers included two Commissioners of Police who were elevated to the rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police and 10 Assistant Commissioners of Police promoted to Deputy Commissioners of Police.

A statement signed by the spokesperson of the Commission, Ikechukwu Ani noted that 12 Superintendents of Police were also promoted to Chief Superintendent, 76 Deputy Superintendents of Police promoted to Superintendent and 139 Assistant Superintendents of Police promoted to Deputy Superintendent.

The Commission also ratified the promotion of 798 Inspectors, products of the last Departmental Selection Board (DSB) to the next rank of Assistant Superintendent of Police.

The promotions were part of the decisions of the Second Plenary Meeting of the Commission held in Wudil, Kano and presided over by the Commission’s chairman, Alhaji Musiliu Smith, a retired Inspector General of Police.

CP. Peter Babatunde Ogunyawo and CP. Mohammed Hussein were promoted to AIGs while Eusuong James, Ogundele Joshua Ayodeji, Abdullahi Shehu, Ajala Elija Ayoola, Ohikere Idris, Alfa Jibrin, Romokere God’sGift Ibiani, Francis Bissong, Akika Augustine and Peter Wagbara, former ACP Operations Delta State Command were promoted Deputy Commissioners.

Superintendents of Police promoted to Chief Superintendents were Yahaya Rabiu Yakasai, Simon Odidi, Musa Umaru, Lucky Seibai, Samuel Onuoha Anele, Moses Iruonagbe, Gambo Ado, Mohammed Umar Bashir, Malam Ezra Danladi, Gloria Reuben, Dalhatu Ibrahim Nuru and Godwin Toho.

Felix Obuka Okoro, Sunday Okah, Bamidele John Olatona Adeniyi Victor Coker, Charles Njoku, Kwaruul Ishaya Yakubu and Olowo Omobolaji Adisa were some of the 76 DSPs promoted to the next rank of SP.

Some of the ASPs promoted DSPs included Fayiwole Juluis Oluwadare, Kolawole Olagunju, Alabijah Eche and Timothy Jonathan.

The statement also noted that the approval of the promotion of the 239 senior officers and ratification of the 7,981 Inspectors to ASP have been conveyed to the Inspector General of Police for implementation in a letter signed by Musa Istifanus, permanent secretary and secretary to the Commission.



%d bloggers like this: