Connect with us
Advertise With Us


INEC Presents Certificate Of Return To 23 Bayelsa Assembly Members-Elect



….as Election tribunal receive Nine petitions from APC, PDP
The Independent Electoral Commission INEC, Bayelsa State has issued Certificate of Return to twenty-three members elect of the Bayelsa State House of Assembly.
The 23 State Assembly members-elect emerged victorious from the election conducted on the 9th of march 2019 and the supplementary elections on the 23rd of march 2019.
The APC had four seats, while the PDP retained 19 seat of the State House of Assembly out of 24.
The State Resident Electoral Commissioner of INEC Pastor Monday Udoh-Tom, while presenting the certificate return to the members elect into the Bayelsa State House of Assembly,urged them to be better representative to their constituency in the discharge of the legislative business as they will be only remembering by their constituency by the effective presentation of their people why in office.
Pastor Monday Udoh-Tom, further advised them to be magnanimous in victory and work ominously with those that lost the election for the common goals of his people.
Speaking on behalf of the two political parties Hon. Koko Obiyai, commanded the electoral empires for the peaceful conducted of the election process in the state, as she charges women of the state to participate as women have a vital role to play in the development of the country.
Why on his part the member elect for Nembe constituency 3 Hon. Douglas Sampson, said as newly elected members from the opposition party,the All Progressive Congress (APC) will work to change the narrative of Bayelsa State at the state assembly.
Other elected member that received their certificate of returns Hon. Wisdon Fafi, said he will contribute meaningfully in the house that will be of benefit for the people of his constituency.
Hon. Mitema Obodor said he will further consolidate his achievement and ensured there is portable drinking water across the various community, meanwhile Omubo Ayonatimiyo, assured of better representation to is people.
The Independent Electoral Commission INEC was unable to present certificate to anyone for Brass constituency one seat as they were a court injunction stopping INEC from conducting supplementary election in the constituency.


Meanwhile, the Election Petition Tribunal has yesterday received Nine petitions challenging some results declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)  during the 9th of march 2019 and the supplementary elections on the 23rd of march 2019.
Among the reports, the APC candidate for Bayless Central Senatorial district,  Mr. Festus Dumeibi have submitted a petition against the election victory of the PDP candidate, Hon. Douye Diri. 
Other candidates of the APC that filed petition at the Tribunal include State House of Assembly candidates, Dr. Selekaye Victor-Ben (Constituency 4,Southern Ijaw),  Hon. Leskey Ikengs (Southern Ijaw Constituency 4), Barr. Nathan Aggro (Yenagoa constituency 1) and Mrs. Caroline Jack (Yenagoa 3).
From the PDP,  the Speaker of the State House of Assembly and candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP)  in Southern Okay Federal Constituency filed a petition against Hon. Preye Oseke of the APC. 
Also Mrs. Marie Ebikake of the PDP filed a petition against the victory of the Hon. Is really Sunny-Goli of the APC who emerged winner of the Nembe-Brass Federal constituency. 


%d bloggers like this: