The chairman of All Progressives Congress (APC) in Niger State, Engr. Mohammed Jibrin Imam has said that the National Assembly members-elect from the state endorsed Senator Ahmed Lawal and Femi Gbajabiamila for Senate President and Speaker respectively to demonstrate loyalty to the party.

He stated this yesterday in Minna while approving the decision of the National Assembly members from the state to endorse Senator Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan as the Senate President and Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila as the Speaker of the 9th National Assembly. He said that the decision of the party in the state was to reiterate the position of the North Central to support them.

According to Jibrin Imam, “The stance of the party at the state level is to enable a smooth ride for the  government of APC and to show their loyalty to the party as well. The endorsement was to avert the reoccurrence of the experience in the 8th Assembly which was unpalatable.”

He said that Niger APC members are loyal party members and have resolved  to abide by the position of the party by endorsing Senator Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan as the Senate President of the 9th  Senate and Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila as the Speaker of the House of Representatives.”

LEADERSHIP recalls that the House of Representatives members-elect  from the state announced the endorsement on Sunday, and the spokesman  Hon. Abdullahi Mahmud, representing Agaie/ Lapai federal constituency in the 9th Assembly said that all the members elect from the state as well as from the North Central region have resolved to support the two candidates approved by the party.

He then assured that the people of the state would continue to support the party’s resolutions in order to ensure that it succeeds in all aspects.

Present  at  the meeting  where the decision was taken  were Governor Abubakar Sani-Bello, the state party chairman, Engr. Jibrin Imam, party secretary, Barr Mohammed  Liman, deputy state chairman, Alhaji Aliyu Ladan, party treasurer, Dr Shafii Abdulsalam, financial secretary, Idris Mohammed.

Others include members representing Agaie/Lapai, Hon Mamud Abdullahi, member representing Bida/Gbako/Katcha, Hon. Saidu Abdullahi, member representing Lavun/Edati/Mokwa, Hon Abdullahi Batamangi, member representing Chanchaga, Hon Muhammed Umar Bago.

Also at the meeting were the member representing Bosso/Paiko, Hon. Baruwa Bosso, member representing Gurara/Tafa/Suleja, Hon Abubakar Ado Tafa, member representing Shiroro/Munya, Hon Captain Chiri, member representing Kontagora/Mashegi/ Mariga/Wushishi, Hon Abdullahi Garba, member representing Rijau/Magama, Hon Shehu Slow and member representing Borgu/Agwara, Hon Jafaru Mohammed.