Connect with us
Advertise With Us


COVID-19: Club Chairmen Vote To End NPFL 2019/20 Season



No fewer than seventeen chairmen of Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) clubs, have voted for the end of 2019/20 season with the top three clubs representing Nigeria at the CAF interclubs competitions next season.

According to the a statement signed by the Executive secretary of the Club Owners Association, Alloy Chukwuma, after the voting session showed that only Rangers International of Enugu voted for the Super 6 option for the winners to emerge as well as the three clubs to represent the country in next season’s continental campaign.

While Akwa United of Uyo and Lobi Stars of Makurdi abstained from voting.

However, the 17 clubs also voted for neither promotion from the lower cadre nor relegation of any of the NPFL clubs.

The votes by the clubs chieftains was one of the four options tables by the League Management Company (LMC) on how to end the season disrupted by the Covid-19 pandemic.

The seventeen that voted for the season to end are: Kwara United, Kano Pillars, Katsina United, Jigawa Golden Stars and Adamawa United.

The others include Wikki Tourists, MFM, Sunshine Stars Enyimba, Warri Wolves and Abia Warriors.

Others are Nasarawa United, FC IfenayiUbah, Dakkada, Heartland, Rivers United and Plateau United.