Connect with us
Advertise With Us


12 Non-career Ambassadors Get Tenure Extension



President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the renewal of the appointments of 12 non-career ambassadors, assuring Nigerians of fairness in representation and inclusiveness in all matters of governance.

According to a statement by presidential spokesman, Garba Shehu, the assurance from the President became necessary following recent complaints after  the announcement of 41 non-career ambassadors that some states were not captured.

The renewal of the appointments followed a performance evaluation, which necessitated an approval for continuation in office of the ambassadors, and the President will still decide if they will remain in their current postings.

The ambassadors whose appointments were renewed are: Mrs Uzoma E. Emenike (Abia); Yusuf M. Tuggar (Bauchi);    Muhammad B. Madugu (Bauchi); Amb. Baba Ahmad Jidda (Borno);    Uyigue O. Oghogho (Edo); Dr. Eniola Ajayi (Ekiti); Deborah S. Iliya (Kaduna); Mohammed D. Rimi (Katsina); Prof. Tijjani Muhammad-Bande (Kebbi); Dr Modupe E. Irele (Lagos); Adeyinka Asekun (Ogun) and Sen. Goni Modu Zanna Bura (Yobe).