Ondo Guber: Rotimi Akeredolu Emerges APC Flagbearer

| Leave a comment

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has named Rotimi Akeredolu as the party’s governorship candidate in Ondo State following it primary election held amidst tight security in the capital of Akure on Saturday.

Chairman of the party’s primary election and Jigawa State governor, Mohammed Abubakar Badaru, who monitored the exercise, announced Mr. Akeredolu as the winner of the poll at the international event center.

It was gathered that other members of the APC Primary Election Committee include: Dr. Bruce Ugbide, Rep. Hamma Ali, Prince M. Martin, and Mr Mohammed Lawal.

Badaru described the conduct of the APC primary election producing a candidate for the opposition party in the state as transparent and credible.

He however, asked the unsuccessful aspirants in the election to pacify their supporters to join hands with Mr. Akeredolu in order to win the November 26th governorship election in the state.

The Jigawa State governor disclosed that the party was prepared to defeat the ruling peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the November 26th governorship election in the Ondo State.

Mr. Kabiru Omosanya, an administrative secretary of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Ondo state, led the electoral team that monitored the primary election.

Also, the combined teams of the security task force which comprises the Army, Police, NSCDC, and DSS monitored the primary election as it went into late Saturday evening.

Twenty-four aspirants jostled for the governorship ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC) at the primary election held on Saturday.

The aspirants were: Tunji Abayomi,Rotimi Akeredolu, Ademola Adegoroye, Derin Adesida, Akinyinka Akinola, Patrick Akinyelure, Omotayo Alasoadura, Jumoke Anifowoshe-Ajasin, Jamiu Ekungba, Niran Oladunnni,

Others inlcude: Oke Olusola, Olabimtan Victor, Boye Oyewunmi, Ajayi Borrofice, Olusegun Abraham; Tayo Alasoadura;  Bode Ayorinde, Akinwale Akingbade, Akinrinsola Odunayo,Bukola Adetula; Niyi Adegbonmire; Foluso Adefemi, Akinola Olayinka; Tunji Ariyo.


comments powered by Disqus

Daily Columns