AFCON 2016: Rohr Gets Debut Win

| Leave a comment

A 79th minute goal by Manchester City of England striker, Kelechi Iheanacho, gave Nigeria a narrow win in yesterday’s AFCON 2016 qualified tournament at Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State capital.

Fans went wild when Iheanacho on jersey number 18 made a surprise pull out from a corner side and scored the goal.

Although the Super Eagles made several attempts, but they failed to scored any goal in the forty five minutes first half of the tournament.

Goalkeeper Aishi Manula who was adjudged man of the match by spectators saved the Tanzania side several goals, as attempts made by Super Eagles Captain Mikel Obi, Victor Moses Muhammed Musa were dashed his magnetic catch.

However, the Nigerian team who failed to score any goal throughout the first half mounted serious pressure on the Tanzania side in the second half.

The Tanzania on the other hand created better chances but poor finishing denied them of any goal. The  impressive show by goalkeeper Aishi Manula ensured that first 45 minutes ended without a goal.

With the result, the record of dominance for Nigeria over Tanzania continues. The first encounter between the two countries dated back to 1973 at the 2nd All-Africa Games that Nigeria hosted in 1973. Nigeria edged the tie 2-1.

In 1980, at the 12th Africa Cup of Nations finals also hosted by Nigeria, the Green Eagles lashed the Taifa Stars 3-1 in the tournament’s opening match.

In the qualifying race for the Spain ’82 FIFA World Cup finals, both teams drew 1-1 at the National Stadium in Lagos, before Nigeria won 2-0 in Dar es Salaam.

The Eagles walked over the Taifa Stars in a 1986 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying fixture.

Nigeria and Tanzania did not face each other again until 2002 in an international friendly game in Nigeria. At the end of proceedings, Nigeria overcame their visitors 2-0 to continue their impressive record against the East African country.

Nigeria’s next game will now be against the Chipolopolo of Zambia in Lusaka on October 3 as the race for the ticket for Russia 2018 commences in earnest.

comments powered by Disqus

Daily Columns