Connect with us
Advertise With Us


FIFA World Cup Trophy Arrives Nigeria Today



Nigerian football fans will have opportunity to see the original FIFA World Cup trophy that will be handed over to the captain of the victorious team inside the 80,000 –capacity Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow July 15, 2018, as prize for conquering the world at the forthcoming World Cup finals in Russia, when the trophy arrive in Nigeria today.

NFF director of communication, Ademola Olajire, in a press statement made available to newsmen, said the trophy, on a tour of 91 cities in 51 countries across six continents before the finals, will touch down at the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport aboard a chartered flight at 11am.

The statement said, the Minister of Youth and Sports, Barrister Solomon Dalung; permanent secretary, Mr. Olusade Adesola; NFF president, Amaju Melvin Pinnick and other top officials of NFF will have the first view of the trophy on the aircraft before it leaves the airport.

From the airport, the trophy, accompanied by several top officials of Coca-Cola’s Global Office and Coca-Cola Nigeria Limited, including Coca-Cola Nigeria Managing Director Bhupendra Suri and Managing Director of Nigeria Bottling Company, Georgios Polymenakos, will make its way to the Transcorp Hilton Hotel for a press conference.

The iconic prize of world football will then be on its way to the Aso Rock Presidential Villa, where President Muhammadu Buhari (GCFR) will have a feel of the trophy and deliver a welcome remark, and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Dalung and other members of the Federal Executive Council will view the trophy as from 4pm.

Coca-Cola Nigeria Limited officials have confirmed that there will be a dinner at the Banquet Hall of the State House for invited guests, and on Thursday, a whole –day consumer viewing of the trophy is planned for the Old Parade Ground, Abuja.

The trophy and its accompanying team will then fly into Lagos on Friday morning, to be received by Governor Akinwunmi Ambode and members of his cabinet as well as NFF President Amaju Pinnick and NFF 1st Vice President Seyi Akinwunmi.