Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Rohr Unveils Eagles’ Final Squad For World Cup



Super Eagles manager Gernot Rohr has picked his final 23 players who will lead Nigeria at the this year World Cup in Russia.

Captain John Obi Mikel, Elderson Echiejile, Ogenyi Onazi, Ahmed Musa, Kenneth Omeruo and Victor Moses will feature in a second World Cup after they were named on the roster.

However, young Chelsea defender Ola Aina, Porto midfielder Mikel Agu and Gent’s Moses Simon will not be traveling with the national team to Russia after they were axed by Rohr

The Nigeria squad contains three goalkeepers, eight defenders, six midfielders and six strikers.

Four players born outside Nigeria in the shape of Leon Balogun, Troost-Ekong, Tyronne Ebuehi and Brian Idowu have been selected in the group.

Aged 19, Deportivo Fabril’s Francis Uzoho is the only teenager in the squad while Chippa United’s Daniel Akpeyi, 31, is the oldest member of the team.

Nigeria 23-Man World Cup Squad

Goalkeepers (3): Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechukwu Ezenwa

Defenders (8): Abdullahi Shehu, Tyronne Ebuehi, William Ekong, Leon Balogun, Chidozie Awaziem, Elderson Echiejile, Kenneth Omeruo, Bryan Idowu

Midfielders (6): Wilfred Ndidi, Mikel John Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, John Ogu, Oghenekaro Etebo, Joel Obi

Strikers (6): Odion Ighalo, Simeon Nwankwo, Alex Iwobi, Ahmed Musa, Kelechi Iheanacho, Victor Moses.





%d bloggers like this: