Connect with us
Advertise With Us


APC , Accord Party, PDM, others form coalition To PMB



Barely 24 hours after the main opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and 34 other political parties signed an MoU to wrestle power from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), 20 political parties under the auspices of Coalition for Progressives Political Parties (CPPP) have formed an alliance to back President Muhammadu Bihari’s re-election bid. Addressing newsmen yesterday in Abuja , Chairman of the coalition who doubles as the National chairman of People’s Democratic Movement (PDM), Alhaji Bashir Yusuf Ibrahim declared that the coalition was “made up of like mind political parties who believe in the unity and stability of the country.
He noted that the coalition which was formed in 2014 ahead of the 2015 presidential election aligned with the Presidential candidature of the current president Buhari emphasizing that the coalition the was resurrected to counter the orchestrated PDP coalition against the APC led government. While berating the PDP coalition, he stated that the parties were driven by selfishness and hunger to capture power in 2019. He explained that the 20 parties that formed the coalition and those who abstained from the PDP charade lacked agenda to drive a new Nigeria.
The PDM chairman alleged that most of the parties in the PDP list were fraudulently included to sign the MoU to deceive Nigerians. He noted that while the Accord Party chairman and himself among other parties abstained from the PDP meeting, their party names were found in the list without their consent which he said raised doubt about the credibility of the coalition.
He said, “Yesterday we woke to a new development where PDP outside power has now managed to create another coalition. As facts continue to emerge, they has listed 36 political parties, our analysis of that coalition reveals that a number of political parties were included in that coalition fraudulently. “Part of the 42 political parties they listed is Accord party and the chairman of the party is here with us. I’d you are creating a coalition, you need to be honest about it as to who and who are members of the coalition.
“As of today, the membership of that coalition is in doubt. Two members also listed at that coalition are here. We are not part of that coalition because we represent a political type of politics which is in total contradiction of what they are doing.  “We do not believe that our country should be governed by people whose only objective is to capture power. Of what purpose is that coalition built? Is it for ten purpose of taking Nigeria back to 1999 and 2015 or is it for the purpose of building a new Nigeria?
“That purpose has not been stated, even their in their memorandum. The only thing in their MoU is to agree to capture power in 2019. Their programme has not been made known to the Nigerian public . We will not be part of a coalition that does not have a programme for Nigeria.” On the objective of the CPPP coalition, Ibrahim said it was to mobilise Nigerians to play greater role in political activities  in the country and ensure that they are given the right to elect their leaders in a free. fair and credible electoral process.
He also stated that it included to monitor and exert pressure on INEC to uphold the sanctity of elections and to help identify security threat, amongst others. Also the Secretary of the Coalition and National Chairman of the Advanced People’s Democratic Alliance (APDA) Shittu Muhammed Kabiru noted that the coalition was to advance the course of democracy and to stabilize the economy which was mismanaged by past PDP led government.
Shittu said the coalition would bring Nigeria out if economic impoverishment. “We want Nigerians to know that our coalition is for a new Nigeria and to advance the course of Nigeria and democrscy and also to change the country from impoverishment to economic prosperity. “We want Nigeria to survive, we will do everything to defend the economy of this country; we are concerned about the unity and stability of Nigeria, Shitu said.
The political parties present at the meeting were All Progressives Congress (APC), Accord Party, Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM), United progressive Party (UPP), Advanced People’s Democratic Alliance (APDA), Hope Democratic Party (HDP), Democratic Peoples Party (DPP) and Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN). Others were Freedom Justice Party (FJP), Fresh Party, (FP) New Nigeria’s Peoples Party (NNPP), Nigeria’s Peoples Congress (NPC), Nigeria Peoples Movement (NPM), Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN), National Action Congress (NAC), and NDLP.