Following recent attack by gunmen that claimed 39 lives in Rabah local government area of Sokoto State, about 10, 000 villagers have fled from their homes to take refuge in temporary Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) camps for fears of the unknown.
The state governor, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, while making the disclosure yesterday when 6 governors of the All Progressives Congress (APC) paid him a condolence visit, added that this is the first time the state is experiencing such a dastardly act.
Tambuwal who wondered what the mission of the assailants was, stressed that, they came, maim, killed and left without taking anything from their victims.
According to him, 32 persons were killed initially, but 7 other corpses were discovered later bringing the total casualty figure to 39 as at yesterday.
While assuring that every necessary measure would be taken to forestall the repeat of any such ugly incident in Sokoto State, Tambuwal added that security has been mobilised to those vulnerable axis that borders Zamfara State.
Speaking earlier, chairman, Nigerian Governors Forum (NGF) and Zamfara State governor, Abdulaziz Yari, decried the extent to which human lives are being wasted unabated in Nigeria.
“We have come for a mission. First to condole you, the governor, the families of the deceased ad the entire people of Sokoto State over the serious loss of lives. We should have been more that these in number but for other commitments we decided to come on behalf of others.
“10 days ago, we were in Plateau State for a similar condolence and today, here we are in Sokoto State.”

Yari who further warned that leaders at all levels need to stand up to the challenge, added that, he is optimistic that leaders can do more despite sabotage to curtail the spate of insecurity.

“Sokoto State has been very peaceful despite security challenges faced by neighbouring states. Therefore, if insecurity is creeping into Sokoto, it is very worrisome,” Said Yari.

Others who came with Abdulaziz Yari for the condolence were governors of Niger, Borno, Jigawa, Katsina and Adamawa States.