Connect with us
Advertise With Us


FG Reconstitutes Tax Appeal Tribunals



The federal government has reconstituted the Tax Appeal Tribunals in the six geo-political zones of the federation as well as Lagos and Federal Capital Territory, the federal ministry of finance has said.
The reconstitution of the tribunals is in accordance with section 2(1) of the Fifth Schedule of the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) Establishment Act.
This is the first time the All Progressives Congress-led government is reconstituting the Tax Tribunal over three years of taking over power. There have been several calls on the federal government to reconstitute the Tribunal to settle the several outstanding tax disputes of an estimated over N5 billion.

Minister of Finance, Mrs. Kemi Adeosun, who announced this on Thursday in Abuja, said the Tribunals would adjudicate over disputes arising from the operation of Federal Tax Laws and Regulations in the country.
She said: “The reconstitution of the Tax Appeal Tribunals is an essential part of building tax payers trust and confidence in the fairness of the system. The Federal Ministry of Finance has undertaken a rigorous process to select competent persons on the basis of merit who will be expected to discharge their duties professionally.”
She also said that the ministry sought nominations from a number of professional bodies and stakeholders, including the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN), Association of National Accountants of Nigeria (ANAN), Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria (CITN), Nigeria Bar Association (NBA) and the Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce & Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA).

The Tax Appeal Commissioners, according to the minister, are expected to hold office for a term of three (3) years from the date of appointment.

Each Tribunal is made up of a Chairman and four Commissioners knowledgeable in the laws, regulations, norms and practices of taxation in Nigeria, management and trade.

Iriogbe Ayo Alice and Lassise-Phillips Olanrewaju Moshood are the chairmen of Abuja and Lagos Tribunals respectively, while Bagoni Alhaji Bukar is employed to chair its North-East zone with Umar Mohammed Adamu drawn to head North-West region of the country. Other chairmen are Barr. Richard Bala, North-Central; Ajibola Akinmade South West; Chukwuemeka Eze: South-East and Odiase-Alegimenlen Obehi, South-South Zone.