Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Katsina: Masari Appoints Caretaker Chairmen For 34 Councils



Katsina state governor, Aminu Bello Masari is to appoint a new commissioner and the transition committees for the 34 local government areas across the state.

This is sequel to the screening of Alhaji Bishir Abdullahi nominated for appointment as commissioner and member of the state executive council as well as the commencement of the screening of nominees to head local government  transition committees by the State House of Assembly,yesterday.

Presenting the name  and curriculum vitae of the member of the executive council nominee before confirmation, the House Leader, Hambali Faruk, said the exercise ws in line with section 192 sub-section 1 of the constitution.

Similarly, the House Leader said the confirmation of the heads of the transition committees’ nominees is in accordance with section 89 of the local government laws of the state.

The first set of nominees, the transition committees for 11 local governments in Katsina zone, was screened yesterday following the resolution of the House after they were presented by the House Leader.

The nominees to head the LG transition committees in Daura and Funtua senatorial zones are scheduled to be screened today.

It will be recalled that local governments in the state are currently led by Heads of Administration since the council chairmen were sacked in June 2015.