Connect with us
Advertise With Us


APC Wins Bauchi, Katsina, Kogi By-elections



The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidates in Bauchi, Katsina and Kogi States have been declared winners of the by-elections held in the state to fill vacant legislative seats in the National Assembly.

In Bauchi, Lawal Yahya Gumau, was yesterday declared winner of the Bauchi south senatorial by-election.

Announcing the results, the returning officer for the by election, Prof Ahmed Sarki Fagam yesterday at the state secretariat of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), revealed that the seven local government councils of Bauchi, Alkaleri, Kirfi,Toro, Dass, Bogoro and Tafawa Balewa that make up the senatorial zone had a total of 877,160 registered voters out of which 256,763   votes were cast in the election.

Fagam, while giving a breakdown of the votes polled  by each party that partook in the election, said the APC candidate got a total of 119, 489 votes to beat his closest rival, Ladan Salihu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 50, 256 votes.

Other candidates that participated in the by- election were the former Governor of the State, Isah Yuguda of the Green Party of Nigeria (GPN) who scored 33,079 votes, Hussaini Umar of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) who polled 22, 896 votes, Aminu Tukur of the All peoples Party (APP) 11,717 votes and Maryam Bagel of the Social Democratic Party (SDP),3,800 votes.

The Returning Officer also noted that 11,111 votes were rejected by the commission due to some irregularities.

Also, in Katsina, the candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Hon. Ahmed Babba Kaita, won Katsina North Senatorial by-election held on Saturday.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Returning Officer of the poll, Prof. Hudu Abdullahi, who announced the result in the early hours of yesterday in Daura, disclosed that Ahmed, polled 224,607 votes out of 287,109 total valid votes cast to defeat his elder brother and candidate of the main opposition party, Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Kabir Babba Kaita.

The keenly constested by -election which saw voters turnout of nearly 50 per cent, also saw the APC closest rival, the PDP polling only 59,724 votes. The candidates of the other smaller parties shared the remaining 2,778 of the valid votes.

Prof Abdullahi declared Ahmed, member representing Kankia/Kusada/Ingawa Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives, the winner of the by-election following the demise of the Senator Mustapha Bukar, APC Katsina North, in April this year.

A breakdown of the poll result shows that the candidate of GPN got 1056 votes, followed by his DA counterpart with 796 votes, leaving the flagbearers of MPN and MMN with 633 and 343 votes respectively.

The story is the same in Kogi, where the candidate of the APC, Alhaji Haruna Isah, has been declared winner of the Lokoja/Kogi House of Representatives by-election held on August 11.

The returning officer, Prof Rotimi Ajayi, who announced the results yesterday in Lokoja, said Isah polled 26, 860 votes to defeat Alhaji Bashir Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 14, 845 votes.

Ajayi said that Ahmed Imam of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) got  2, 916 votes, while the candidates of the Accord Party and Alternative Democratic Congress (ADC) polled 149 votes and 2,984 votes, respectively.

The Labour Party got 90 votes; Democratic Alternative scored 159 votes; while Mega Party of Nigeria got 50 votes, Ajayi stated.

He said that 19,960 votes from 17 polling units were cancelled due to violence and other malpractices, saying that 15 of the affected polling units were in Lokoja local government area, while two were from Kogi local government area.

Giving a further breakdown of the election results, the Returning Officer said that 51, 669 voters were accredited for the election while only 50,036 actually cast their votes.

According to him, valid votes are 48,165, while rejected votes are 1,871.

The by-election was conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to fill the vacancy created by the death of the former occupant of the seat, Umar Buba Jibrin, on March 30.




%d bloggers like this: