Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Bayelsa PDP Clears 122 Aspirants For State Assembly Primaries



PDP logo

The Screening Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Bayelsa State has confirmed the screening out of three persons and clearance of 122 other aspirants to contest the State House of Assembly primaries of the party in the state.

According to the list pasted at the State Secretariat of the PDP, out of the 122 State Assembly aspirants cleared, 17 are incumbent state lawmakers while the remaining 105 are first timers.

Those screened out by the party include Ayebainaemi lberbo (Nembe 1) Christopher Omu (Brass 1) and Erigi Wamoemi (Yenagoa 3).

According to the organising secretary, Mr. Luke Deomeru, the details of the reasons for not clearing some aspirants cannot be given to the public unless the aspirants are aggrieved and appeal to the screening panel.

LEADERSHIP gathered that the Southern Ijaw local government area, which is the largest council in the state,  has the highest number of 37 aspirants and 16 from constituency 4 where the current Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Hon. Kombowei Benson hails from.

The speaker, Hon. Konbowei Benson, had served as member of the State House of Assembly in the last 12 years and emerged speaker in the last eight years, bowed to pressure and retreated from the race after several protests from the people.

Five out of the 17 incumbents are vying for a third term into the house with various claims that they were prevailed upon by their constituents even as their bids have also been resisted through several protests from their constituents.

They  include Hon. Tonye Isenah (Kolokuma/Opokuma) constituency one, Hon. Obiene Iniyobiyo (Nembe) constituency three, Dr. Peter Akpe (Sagbama) constituency one, Hon. Monday Bolou Edwin Obolo (Southern Ijaw) constituency two and Hon. Omonibeke Kemelayefa (Ekeremor) constituency two.

Their constituent also vowed to work with popular or opposition candidates if the party hands the flag to those coming for the third time.

Three former care-taker chairmen, Hon. Oboku Abonisizibe Oforji, from Yenagoa constituency one, Naomi Benjamin Ogoli, Ogbia constituency three and Hon. Wisdom Fafi, (KOLGA) two, also claimed to have the blessing and nod of the state governor to get the flag of the party.

The organising secretary also stated that the party is ready for the primaries and that it will be free, fair and credible, adding that all the aspirants whether new or old will be giving a level playing ground to contest.

He said the best and well-grounded aspirants will emerge after the process.





%d bloggers like this: