Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Nasarawa Elders Applaud Survey On Gov’ship Race



A group, Concerned Nasarawa Elders Forum (CNEF) in Nasarawa State has hailed the recent survey conducted on the most popular and acceptable governorship candidate among those seeking to become the next governor of the state in the 2019 general elections.

They said that the survey reflected the will and wishes of people of the state.

In a statement issued yesterday by CNEF chairman, Dr. Ahamba Clement and secretary, Engr. Muhammed Idris, the elders said that the poll which tipped the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship candidate, Hon. David Ombugadu (Davematic) to win the contest, reflected the genuine feelings and thoughts of the people of the state.

Ahamba said: “We stand by the public opinion research that was carried out by a Coalition of Research Organisations (COREONG), a coalition of international and indigenous research groups operating in Nigeria, including Nasarawa State.

“We can attest to the authenticity of the survey. The result of the survey sufficiently explains the desire of the ordinary citizens of Nasarawa State irrespective of religion and ethnic background to have a balance of power. Beside the issue of marginalisation whereby governors from one religion have been in control of political power since the creation of the state, the lives of our citizens have not been meaningfully impacted through visionary governance.

“The failure of governance in the state is a testament to this citizens’ reaction to the present ruling party in the state and vowing to support the candidate of the leading opposition PDP who holds a better promise of providing better healthcare, education, electricity, rural development, improved agricultural development, job creation and youth and women empowerment”, the elders said.

Other candidates in the governorship race are former minister of information, Hon. Labaran Maku on the platform of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Alhaji A.A. Sule (All Progressives Congress – APC), Group Captain Dr Z.R. Zakka (Africa Democratic Congress – ADC), Hon. Matthhew Ombugaku (RNP) and Hon. Danju Mantani Kreni of the Young Progressive Party (YPP).

COREORG had partnered with the Unity Forum of Ethnic Nationalities in Nasarawa State, Independent University Professors, Nasarawa Concerned Natives, Nasarawa Campus to Campus Group, and others to conduct the opinion poll.




%d bloggers like this: