Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Rerun: PDP Wins In Bwari, Kuje, APC Sweeps Kwali



PDP logo

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Shekwogaza Gabaya of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), as winner of Bwari area council chairmanship rerun election, conducted at the weekend.

The commission also declared Abdulahi Sabo of PDP as winner of the supplementary election conducted in Kuje area.

The returning/collation officer for Bwari area council supplementary election, Prof. Mohammed Umaru, who announced the results, said that Gabaya polled a total of 31,114 votes, to defeat his closes rival, Musa Dikko of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who scored a total of 24,137 votes.

Also, the INEC returning officer for Kuje area council, Prof. Titus Ibekwe, who announced the results, said that Sabo scored a total of 19, 090 votes to defeat the incumbent chairman, Mr. Abdullahi Galadima of the APC, who scored 15, 187 votes.

Prof. Ibekwe maintained that Abdullahi Sabo of the PDP has satisfied the requirements of the law by polling the highest number of votes and is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected.

Meanwhile, the commission has declared Danladi Chiya of the APC, as winner of the supplementary poll for Kwali area council.

INEC returning officer, Prof. Simon Kawe, who announced the result, said Chiya scored the highest votes of 14,245, to defeat his closest rival, Mr. Ibrahim Daniel of the PDP, who scored 14, 189 votes.

LEADERSHIP gathered that the supplementary election in Sheda polling unit 005 was however disrupted by some thugs.