Connect with us
Advertise With Us


Ekiti Assembly Reinstates Suspended Ex Speaker, 4 Others



The suspension slammed on the former speaker of the Ekiti State House of Assembly, Mr. Kola Oluwawole and four other lawmakers was on Wednesday lifted by the Assembly.

Other members of the Assembly reinstated were the former Deputy Speaker, Mr Segun Adewumi, Mr Abiola Jeje, (Ido/Osi 11), Mr Adesina Animasaun,(Ekiti West 11) and Mr Dare Pelemo (Ekiti East 11).

The lawmakers were among those suspended last year on the allegation of passage of the N10 billion Supplementary Budget of the immediate past governor of the state Mr Ayo Fayose.

This followed the adoption of the report of the Appeal Panel Committee chaired by Chief Gboyega Aribisogan (Ikole 1) at the plenary presided over by the Speaker, Hon. Adeniran Alagbada.

Hon Aribidogan moved the motion for the adoption of the report of the committee and was seconded by Mr Sunday Akinniyi (Ikere 11).

Addressing newsmen shortly after plenary, Aribisogan, who is also the leader of the House said their colleagues were reabsorbed because of their pleadings and the remorse they showed about their actions.

According to him “The All Progressives Congress (APC) members in the spirit of love have made it possible for the successful plenary sitting today for the reinstatement of the suspended House members.

“Though, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) felt that the suspended members, who are mainly from their party should not be reinstated because of the internal crisis, but APC members opposed that.

“The affected PDP members who had earlier written letters of apology are hereby reabsorbed,”Aribisogan said.

The lawmakers also unanimous adopt the Harmonised South West Houses of Assembly Rules and Standing Orders being part of legislative business of the day.

With this development, there is now uniform Rules and Standing Orders for all the South-western states of Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ondo and Ekiti.